Vegan Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

The Huffington Post declared this recipe from The Peaceful Dumpling to be the very best vegan chocolate chip banana bread recipe out there. Obviously I had to see for myself! (It’s so totally true.)

Henry entertained in the doorway.

Henry entertained in the doorway.

My husband and I are not vegan, but we are 95% vegetarian and strong believers in the classic mantra “everything in moderation.” Since our baked good consumption is often less than moderate, and in a perfect world my husband aspires to veganism, I have been inspired to dabble in the art of vegan baking.

veganbanana1

According to the preface on this recipe, there are a couple key nuances to the success of this loaf. One of them being not mashing the bananas into a smooth, homogenous glob, but rather leaving them lumpy to create caramelized pockets of banana in the finished product. For this reason, I forewent my usual one-bowl-wonder technique and mashed the bananas, lumpily, in a bowl with a fork. I then proceeded to add in the 1/3 C sugar, juice of 1/2 a lemon, and 1/2 C coconut oil (which I actually ran out of, so I topped off my measure with vegetable oil.)

veganbanana3

I mixed the dry ingredients: 2 1/4 C flour, 1/2 t baking soda, 1/2 t baking powder, dash of salt and cup of chocolate chips, and added it to the wet, careful not to over-mix.

veganbanana2

Since I’m baking at altitude, I added an extra 1/4 C flour, and also used one of my super crazy juicy, massive meyer lemons so that I wouldn’t have to worry about adding additional moisture.

veganbanana4

Being parchment paper’s biggest fan, I lined my bread pan with parchment instead of greasing and baked at 375 for 50 minutes. One of my favorite things about this loaf is the crusty top. One typical characteristics of banana bread is its soft, moist, almost sticky feel; this loaf, while moist and delicious on the inside has a crisp outside layer. Fabulous, and not just for being vegan!

3 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. I can’t wait to try this out. I am growing a meyer lemon tree ( my indoor gardening fix until I can get outside) and I am just waiting for those green lemons to turn that lovely orange/yellow color.

    Like

  2. Best banana bread recipe I have tried! I am not vegan, but this bread tasted way better than my usual go to with a stick of butter and eggs. I am going to try this with walnuts and coconut next time. I also added a little vanilla in mine, just because I love it. Sara, I adore your blog and the sweet insight to your beautiful days as a mommy and wife. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment